Local Storage with Sync Module 2


Use this article to understand how Local Storage functions with the Sync Module 2.

The Sync Module 2's USB port allows you to plug in a USB flash drive. After plugging this in, the Sync Module 2 will be able to save either normal clips or clip backups to the drive, depending on the Blink subscription plan you've signed up for.

USB drive requirements

  • Any type-A self-powered USB flash drive formatted to ExFAT (preferred), FAT32, or FAT
    • If necessary, the Blink app can reformat the drive when it is first inserted into the Sync Module 2.
  • Minimum storage size: 1 GB
  • Maximum storage size: 256 GB
  • More than 375 MB of free space available

Use the following to understand how each situation interacts with the Sync Module 2 equipped with local storage.

I have a free trial

When you onboard a new device for the first time, a Blink camera will begin its 30-day free trial to Blink Plus. Once this plan is up and running, your Blink clips will automatically save to the Cloud, with no extra steps. Learn more about Blink Subscription Plans.

If you also have a Sync Module 2 on your system and have a USB flash drive installed, the USB flash drive is used as a daily backup device.

I am subscribed to a Blink subscription plan free trial, but also using local storage. Why don't I see multiple storage tabs?

  • If the local storage tab doesn't appear in the Clips List, you have no clips in local storage. 
  • The flash drive is used for backups while you have a subscription.


Delete

I am subscribing to a Blink Subscription Plan

If you either begin or continue to subscribe to one of the Blink subscription plans, your Blink clips are automatically saved to the Cloud, with no extra steps. Clips are viewed within the Clips section of the app. If you were previously on a free trial, all of your clips will remain in the Clips tab. Learn more about Blink Subscription Plans.

If you also have a Sync Module 2 on your system and have a USB flash drive installed, the USB flash drive is used as a daily backup device.

I am subscribed to a Blink subscription plan, but also using local storage. Why don't I see multiple storage tabs?

  • If the local storage tab doesn't appear in the Clips List, you have no clips in local storage. 
  • The flash drive is used for backups while you have a subscription.


Delete

I am not on any subscription plan or free trial

If you aren't subscribing to a Blink plan, once you plug in a compatible and properly formatted USB flash drive into the Sync Module 2, local storage starts automatically and saves motion detection clips to the drive. No extra steps are needed.

The USB flash drive is not used for clip backups unless a subscription is attached with it.

I'm not subscribing to a Blink plan. Why do I see two tabs in the Clips List?

  • Check if you have clips saved in the Cloud tab. If you no longer have a subscription or free trial, but your former subscription has remaining clips within the cloud, those clips stay there until they are either deleted manually, or the clip reaches its auto-deletion time.


Delete

How to view Cloud Storage or Local Storage clips

In the footer of the Blink app, tap the Clips icon  to see the Clip List.

  • If you have clips stored in multiple places, (i.e. Both cloud storage and local storage) they will be organized by tabs in the Clip List.
  • These tabs appear when multiple storage locations are in use and contain saved clips. The tabs don't appear in the Clip List when one storage location is available.
  • Each tab displays a list of the clips that are saved to storage. They are listed by camera name and sorted by the time the clip occurred.
  • The Speaker icon  allows you to enable or mute audio from the selected clip. This setting remains until you change it back.

Cloud and Local Storage tabs

Clips are organized by storage tabs at the top of the Clip List in the app. There are two tab types: the Cloud Storage tab and the Local Storage tab.

Cloud Storage tab
  • This tab is always named Cloud in the app.
  • Tapping this tab shows you all of the clips that are currently saved to your Cloud Storage, whether you are subscribing to a Blink plan or not.
  • Clips in Cloud Storage are not saved permanently. They will auto-delete after a set period of time. 
  • Tap Filter in the lower right corner to select events, systems, or cameras to display on the Clip List.
  • To delete multiple clips at once, either tap Edit (iOS) or long press on a clip (Android) to select it. Tap additional clips in the list to select them and then tap the trash can  at the top Clips to delete them.
Local Storage tab 
  • This tab appears when:
    • You have clips saved in both your Local Storage USB drive as well as your Cloud Storage.
    • You have two or more Sync Module 2's and a USB drive is connected to each one.
  • This tab shares the name of the system that the Sync Module 2 is attached to.
  • Local Storage displays the last 30 days of clips - up to 1000 total.
  • Local Storage clips do not auto-delete, but are limited by the storage capacity of the drive.
  • You may delete one clip at a time while viewing clips in Local Storage. 
  • Edit (iOS) and Filter options do not appear in the Clip List.

Local Storage with Early Notification setting

  • If you're using Local Storage with Early Notification on and access a motion notification, clip recording stops immediately.
  • If you're using Local Storage with Early Notification off, the entire motion clip saves to the USB drive before you can use Live View. 
  • Clip length and Early Notification can be adjusted in Camera Settings.

Common Sync Module 2 questions

How do I change auto-delete storage settings?

Clips in Cloud Storage have a default auto-delete setting of 60 days (30 days in the EU and UK) but can be changed to 3, 7, 14, or 30 days. To change this setting, tap the caret in the upper right corner of Clips.

Delete

Some of my clips seem to have disappeared. What happened to my clips?

There are a few different answers to this scenario.

  1. The most common answer is they were auto-deleted. All clips have a limited lifespan in Cloud Storage. This means that depending on your setting, after a certain amount of time has passed, your clip is permanently removed from our servers automatically. Once it's removed, there is no way to recover that clip.
  2. A trusted person who has access to the account could have deleted the clips.
  3. Your local storage USB flash drive could have become corrupted, causing data loss.

Note: Local storage clips that are automatically backed up to your USB drive do not auto-delete, however if the maximum storage capacity has been reached, backups are no longer be created and more storage space must be made available for clip backup to resume.

Delete

Why do Local Storage clips take longer to load?

Local Storage clips may take a few moments to appear in the Blink app because they are being uploaded from your Sync Module. Blink recommends your Wi-Fi and internet upload speeds have a minimum of 2 MB/sec.

What happens to my clips when I switch from one storage type to another?

When your primary storage type changes (i.e. switching from Cloud storage to Local Storage or vice-versa), all clips stay where they were created until they reach the auto-delete limit or get deleted manually.

Cloud Storage - If a subscription is canceled or is no longer active, clips in Cloud Storage remain there until the auto-delete time is reached, or until they are deleted manually.

Local Storage - Clips on the USB drive are not automatically deleted. You can delete single clips in the Blink app, or you can safely eject the USB drive and access clips on your computer to delete clips all at once. When you re-insert the USB drive into your Sync Module 2, the remaining clips are recognized and local storage resumes.

When you have clips in more than one storage location, the following message appears in the Blink app.

This warning message appears when you stop or cancel your subscription, and all of your clips have reached their auto-delete time.

What if my USB drive gets partially removed by accident?

If the Sync Module 2 does not detect a good connection to the attached drive, the app notifies you with this message. If your app is displaying this message, try unplugging the drive and plug it back in to check if it's seated in the port correctly and that power to the Sync Module is working.

Learn more about Troubleshooting Local Storage.




Can’t find what you’re looking for?

Contact Support