How to Access Live View

Live View, as the name implies, provides live video and sound to you in the Blink app, or certain Alexa enabled devices‍. The camera uses your Wi-Fi network to send Live View; therefore, the connection must have 2 MB per second or faster upload speed (from your camera to the Blink app). Live View can fail if the internet connection is too slow or not reliable.

Cameras with a microphone and speaker display a tap-to-talk button on the Live View screen of the Blink app. If your mobile device does not have echo cancellation, the push-to-talk button must be held when you are speaking.

Two-Way Audio‍ is supported on the Blink Video Doorbell, Outdoor, Indoor (gen 2), Mini, and XT2 cameras. Click to learn more about Live View with Alexa‍.


Accessing Live View

To manually access Live View, tap the Live View icon Live View icon from your home screen for the camera you would like to view. Live Views can also be accessed when tapping on motion alerts sent to your mobile device. Only one person at a time; however, has the ability to access Live Views resulting from motion alerts, even though those alerts may appear simultaneously on multiple devices for different people.
Home screen

Tap the speaker icon toggle mute to mute or unmute live audio from the camera microphone.
live view


Save Live View sessions to cloud storage when you tap the Save button on the lower left of the screen.

Note: You can only save Live View sessions with an active Blink Subscription Plan or free trial.


Two-Way Audio

Tap and hold the Talk button to broadcast your voice from the camera speaker, and release it to listen from the camera microphone.
Note: The Blink Video Doorbell doesn't require you to hold the Talk button, since it toggles on and off with a single tap.

If your mobile device has echo cancellation, you tap the Talk button to have a two-way conversation without needing to hold the button when speaking.

To conserve bandwidth, a Continue? button appears, asking if you want to keep watching the Live View. The button appears a few times until your viewing limit of five minutes is reached.



Delete

Info

Blink Subscription Plans enable many premium features including Extended Live View - exclusively for Blink Mini cameras! This new feature provides images and sound directly from a Mini to the Blink app, up to 90 minutes at a time without user intervention. In addition, you can view regular Live View sessions up to five minutes without tapping on "Continue". Click here to learn more.


Orientation

Generally, when the Blink app is viewed in landscape orientation (wider rather than tall) the images appear full screen. When in the portrait orientation (taller) the Blink app shows a view that fills the screen width, and 'pinch to zoom' gestures allow viewing of image details. The actual image size is not changed. 

When you are in portrait view, you can tap the full screen icon in the top right to access landscape view, or turn your mobile device 90° sideways which will automatically switch it to landscape.

Once you are in landscape view, you can tap the icon in the top right again to revert back to portrait view, or turn your mobile device 90°.


Camera Settings

Use the camera settings‍ to change the image resolution. You can access these settings directly from the Live View screen, by tapping the More button in the bottom right of your screen and selecting Device Settings.

         

When you have completed your Live View, tap Close in the upper left-hand corner of the app on iOS devices and < on Android devices.

Alexa enabled screen devices do not provide the Continue button and remain in Live View until the limit is reached. If the Live View ends before you are finished, merely re-enter Live View by pressing the icon again.




Can’t find what you’re looking for?

Contact Support